chocolate chip coffee cookies

January 31, 2011 at 3:36 pm (Cookies) (, , )

Okay, here goes. Pardon my mediocre photography skills. And despite their rough appearance, these cookies are quite tasty.

My first post ever will be on the recipe I’ve probably baked the most. I was watching Food Network Challenge, and the contestants had to make several different cookies. One woman made chocolate espresso cookies, and when I saw them, I knew I wanted some. Which is weird, because I don’t really like coffee. But anyway, since I am not as fancypants at the people on Food Network, I decided just to use plain coffee instead of espresso. Also I already had it, and I am lazy, so it was easier.

I searched the net for various coffee cookie recipes. Once I had selected one, I started taking notes on reviews it had received and what I thought of their ingredients. I altered the recipe so much that I am calling it my own. It took 6 tries to get it right, but I finally got something I’m proud of.

(At the very end of this is just the recipe for you guys who don’t want the adventure or need a summary. This will happen in every entry!)

Some of the things I changed? Here is a short, unorganized paragraph listing them:

Instead of blending all the chocolate in, I mixed in half the chips. Normal ground coffee instead of espresso. Used milk chocolate instead of bittersweet. Added less sugar. Added less unsweetened chocolate. Added more flour. Added more coffee. Adjusted bake time. Adjusted cookie size

So basically, I kept the some of the basics to keep the chemistry right. Some of my earlier alterations resulted in near-cracker cookies, and near-brownie cookies. I do suspect that they would make great brownies though, and I think I might try it out in the future.

Okay, so! Here are the ingredients:

  • 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 2 cups milk chocolate chips (important!!! –> half will be melted in, half mixed in)
  • 8 T unsalted butter (one stick)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 T finely ground coffee (on this: I used ground coffee then ground it as finely as I could with a mortar and pestle)
  • 1 T vanilla
  • Milk to drink with them if you’d like–you’ll want it

A NOTE: t is teaspoon, T is tablespoon

All right, let’s get started.

Step 1: preheat and grease

350 degrees, pretty typical. Make sure the rack is in the middle of the oven!

As for the pans, my oven can fit 2 standard-sized cookie sheets. This is where is gets a little wonky. So these cookies are stickers. You either have to grease the pan or scrape them up off of a stainless steel cookie sheet. The first time I made them, I simply used nonstick cookie sheets and didn’t grease them, because the recipe said not to. This was no good:

I tried a few different methods of greasing, and this is what I figured out. These are a few options that worked for me:

  • Cooking spray–(on right) makes cookies larger and flatter, more crisp edges and chewy center. Both my current taste-tester’s favorite and my boyfriend’s favorite
  • Butter and flour–(on left) cookies more round and puffy, chewy center, generally harder than above method
  • Scrape it hard, scrape it good–no greasing, cookies stick to pan. It’s hard to get them off of the sheet, but these are my favorite. Very similar to the butter and flour method. You should probably scrape them up with a metal spatula off of a stainless steel cookie sheet (which I have not actually tried, and will update this once I have), because a rubber one off of nonstick yields the above picture. I will admit with shame that I liked these cookies off of a nonstick pan, scraped up with a metal spatula. This does, however, ruin your pan and might give you cancer. Don’t do it. I promised not to ever again, and will instead go with the cooking spray.

Okay, once you decide how you want to grease this pan, we can get started.

Step 2: melty goodness

Do you have a double boiler? Great! I don’t. If you don’t have one either, you can be bootleg like me:

What I did is use a big pot on the bottom, then a large colander (which until this moment I thought was spelled with 2 L’s), and then a smaller pot on top (where the ingredients go). Awesome.

Note: it is very important you do this instead of placing the saucepan directly on the stove. The chocolate and butter won’t melt the right way, and can turn out all goopey and unmixed.

So anyway, in your double boiler/invention (bring the water to a simmer), melt unsweetened chocolate, 1 cup chocolate chips (HALF OF THEM), and the butter. Make sure you stir it once in a while. When it’s smooth, remove it from the heat. While it’s melting, you can work on step 3. Just make sure you don’t neglect the stove and stir it every so often!

Step 3: beat it

So, the coffee. I used ground coffee the first time, but the texture was off. The next time around I ground it further until it was pretty fine with a mortar and pestle. I love my mortar and pestle (below). A spice grinder works wonders, but I think I might like a little of the texture of the coffee grounds.

Once you have your coffee ground to your satisfaction (which has not been done yet in the above shot), move on. This will be your batter bowl, so don’t use a small one. Beat together the eggs, sugar, and ground coffee on high speed (I use egg beaters) until it’s thick and pale and kind of frothy.

I generally just do this until the chocolate on the stove is melted, going back and forth in between the two. Once both mixtures are ready, pour the chocolate mixture as well as the T vanilla into the egg mixture and beat it together at medium speed until combined.

Step 4: adding flour and chips

Whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt together so that it combines nicely with the wet ingredients. I like to add the flour mixture to the chocolate one in thirds, stirring in between, because it makes things easier and helps avoid clumps. Usually you would do this all with a spoon until it was just combined, but I find it’s better to beat this stuff, because the batter is already pretty liquidy.

Mix in the remaining chips with a spoon, until they are evenly incorporated into the batter. Now stick that bowl in the fridge for 10 minutes so it can harden! It’s much easier to put the batter on the cookie sheet this way, trust me. I also recommend sticking the batter back in the fridge while the cookies are in the oven.

Step 5: drop and bake

So once this batter is nice and thick from the chill, drop the batter in heaping teaspoons onto your greased (or not, bu I recommend it) cooking sheet. The original recipe said tablespoons, and that was disastrous. I wish I had a picture!

These cookies bake in my oven for 10 minutes, but depending on the size and your oven’s power, it can be anywhere from 8-12. Just stick a toothpick in the puffiest one and see if it comes out clean (meaning they’re done). Mine usually are puffy and cracked on top when they’re finished cooking, but for some reason when I made them at my boyfriend’s mother’s house they didn’t crack at all and I overcooked them. Anyway, these cookies are a little brownie-like in the center. Don’t be upset if they look a little under-done (which is how I like them anyway). You can always add an extra 2 minutes to make it less chewy on the inside.

Mine look like this when they’re done:

Once you have your baked cookies, let them sit on the sheet for a minute or two before taking them off. You can put them on a cooling rack, but I just put them all on a plate. I’ll eat a cookie as soon as it doesn’t burn me when I touch it, but you should probably let them sit for 3 or so minutes.

An ending note: these things make you very thirsty. Have some milk on hand!

Hope you enjoy 🙂

TLDR;

  • 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 2 cups milk chocolate chips (important!!! –> half will be melted in, half mixed in)
  • 8 T unsalted butter (one stick)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 T finely ground coffee (on this: I used ground coffee then ground it as finely as I could with a mortar and pestle; picture later on)
  • 1 T vanilla
  • Milk to drink with them if you’d like–you’ll want it
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease 2 cookie sheets
  2. In a double boiler or a metal bowl set over a saucepan of barely simmering water melt unsweetened chocolate, 1 cup chocolate chips, and butter, stirring until smooth, and remove top of double boiler or bowl from heat.
  3. In a bowl with an electric mixer beat eggs, sugar, and ground coffee on high speed until very thick and pale and mixture forms a ribbon when beaters are lifted, about 3 minutes.
  4. Beat in chocolate mixture and vanilla.
  5. Into mixture sift in flour, baking powder, and salt and stir until just combined.
  6. Stir in remaining chocolate chips.
  7. Chill batter for 10 minutes
  8. Drop batter by heaping teaspoons for 8 to 10 minutes, or until puffed and cracked on top. Keep batter in fridge in between batches. Cool cookies in baking sheets 1 minute and transfer to racks to cool completely.
2 Comments

  1. linden said,

    okay, these look super tasty and I will have to try them out once I am eating things like this again (…I know! these things are prohibited from every direction! flour, butter, chocolate, my life is hard right now.)

    have you tried using baking paper/parchment paper? That’s what I use here, since I don’t have a proper baking tray, and it works pretty well. might get you the “don’t use any greasing” taste without the difficulty getting them off?

  2. radthica said,

    Thanks Erica I am your taste tester right? i know i am well thx and i and nida do ❤ them i'll make them and bring them to you to taste 😀 excited

Leave a Reply

